2023 California Missions and Presidios Conference Recap

40th Annual California Missions and Presidios Conference
Presented by California Missions Foundation
February 17-18, 2023
“Mission San Francisco Solano 200 Years”

Welcome to the California Missions Foundation
third virtual California Missions and Presidios Conference

On behalf of the CMF Board of Directors, welcome to the 40th Annual California Missions and Presidios Conference presented virtually by California Missions Foundation. This is the third time that our annual conference is being held virtually. The California Missions Studies Association (CMSA) began this Conference in 1984 and merged with CMF in 2015. The conference was started by a dedicated group of mission enthusiasts and historians concerned with ensuring our Missions and related historical sites would be preserved accurately. The group also promoted historical research, scholarship, and education. CMF is proud to continue this important work. Over the years, the Conference has drawn many outstanding scholarly papers, wonderful keynote addresses, fascinating tours and has provided a chance for networking and camaraderie. In 2023, we will host both a virtual session on February 17-18 and an in-person event at Mission San Francisco Solano on October 21. We will also be honoring several individuals for their outstanding work in the areas of scholarship, research, and preservation. CMF would like to take a moment to thank everyone who has worked so hard to organize this great event. Our gratitude extends to all of you. Thank you for being a part of this virtual Conference and the fall tour at Mission Sonoma.

Conference Program


Keynote Address
"Near Civil War in the Interior: 1815 as Turning Point in Status of Mission Indians"
Dr. Marie Christine Duggan

Marie Christine Duggan has a PhD in economics and teaches business management at Keene State College in the University of New Hampshire System. She is writing a book on commercial actors in the history of the Californias, 1680-1830. She is the author of “From Bourbon Reform to Open Markets in California, 1801-1821”, Journal of Evolutionary Studies in Business, 2023, Volume 8, No. 1 and “Las redes de comercio de contrabando en el Golfo de California entre 1665 y 1701 como motora de la expansión jesuita” (“Contraband Trade Networks in the Gulf of California, 1665-1701: Driver of Jesuit Expansion”) in Guillermina del Valle Pavón (editor), Contrabando, redes de negocios y corrupción en Hispanoamérica, siglos XVII-XIX, México, Instituto Dr. José María Luis Mora, forthcoming in 2023. In 2016, she published Beyond Slavery: The Institutional Status of Mission Indians in Franciscans and American Indians in Pan-Borderlands Perspective: Adaptation, Negotiation, Resistance. She is the 2017 recipient of the Norman Neuerberg Award from the California Missions Foundation.


2023 CMF Norman Neuerburg Award Recipient
Dr Lee Panich

2023 Edna Kimbro Award Recipient
Charlen Duvall

2023 CMF Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient
Fray Francisco Morales, O.F.M.

Biographies of Award Recipients



Friday, February 17, 2023

OPENING SESSION – Moderator: Michael H. Imwalle

2:00 p.m. Russell Skowronek and Margaret Graham, Salud! Drink and Foodways of Alta California

2:30 p.m. Anthony Ray, The Higueras

3:00 p.m. Paul Chace, Los Angeles, California's Capitol: Cultures, Conflicts, Chaos and Capitulations – The Last Moments of the Missions

3:30 p.m. Martha Ann Francisca Vallejo McGettigan, Sonoma - Sonoma So Fair! A Special Look at the Sonoma Wines and Winemaking of Mariano Guadalupe Vallejo

4:00 p.m. Mission Preservation Panel - Restoring a California Mission: Mission San Gabriel with Melvyn Green, Kaitlin Drisko, Robert Glen Knight, Rosa Lowinger, Jill Short and Terri Huerta

5:00 p.m. Virtual Tour of Mission San Francisco Solano / CMF Annual Meeting / 2023 Awards / Conversation with 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients, Dr. Daniel Krieger and Dr. Robert Hoover

6:00 p.m. Keynote Address by Dr. Marie Duggan, Near Civil War in the Interior: 1815 as Turning Point in Status of Mission Indians


Saturday, February 18, 2023

SESSION I: A Morning Focus on Historic Sonoma – Moderator: Russell Skowronek

8:30 a.m. Glenn Farris, Archaeology in the Corral of the Sonoma Barracks and the Casa Grande of Mariano Vallejo

9:00 a.m. Robert Jackson, The Mapping of Northern Alta California

9:30 a.m. Damian Bacich, Gabriel Moraga and the North Bay

10:00 a.m. Break


SESSION II: Moderator: Robert Jackson

10:15 a.m. Jarrell Jackman, Santa Barbara’s Royal Presidio: The Rise, Fall and Rebirth of Spain’s Last Adobe Fortress

10:30 a.m. Peter Meyerhof, Attempts to Build a Mission north of Sonoma after 1834

11:00 a.m. David Rickman and Alex La Pierre, Accoutred in a Panoply of Leather: Reconstructing the Cuera

11:30 a.m. Sandy Brown, The California Mission Trail: America's New Camino de Santiago?

12:00 p.m. Break

12:15 p.m. SPECIAL LUNCH HOUR PRESENTATION: Rose Marie Beebe and Robert Senkewicz, The Yankees, Señor General, Are Not Like Us: Mariano Guadalupe Vallejo and his History of Alta California


SESSION III: Food and Wine Along the Mission Trail – Moderator: Glenn Farris

1:00 p.m. Vincent Medina, Café Ohlone: Indigenous Cuisine

1:30 p.m. Michael Imwalle, Historic Vines

2:00 p.m. April Farnham, Mariano G. Vallejo's Vineyards and Their Legacy


SESSION IV: Moderator: Damian Bacich

2:30 p.m. John Johnson, The Chumash Community at Saticoy in Post-Mission Times

3:00 p.m. Ruben Mendoza, Missions, Presidios and Pueblos - 1850-1990: The Hathaway Collection of Early CA Photography

3:30 p.m. David Rex Galindo, Southern California Indigenous Peoples and Authorship in Fray Jerónimo Boscana’s Writings

4:00 p.m. Debbie Jewell, Mission San Antonio Water System

Annual California Missions Conferences

2023 San Francisco Solano
2022 San Luis Obispo
2021 San Gabriel
2020 Monterey and Carmel
2019 San Diego de Alcalá
2018 Santa Clara
2017 Santa Inés
2016 San Juan Bautista
2015 San Buenaventura
2014 San Antonio de Padua
2013 Santa Bárbara
2012 San Rafael Arcángel
2011 San Miguel Arcángel
2010 San Luis Rey de Francia
2009 San Carlos Borromeo de Carmel
2008 Tucson, Arizona
2007 San Francisco de Asís
2006 San Diego de Alcalá
2005 San Fernando Rey de España
2004 San Luis Obispo de Tolosa
2003 Santa Cruz
2002 La Paz, Baja California Sur
2001 Royal Presidio Chapel, Monterey
2000 San Gabriel Arcángel
1999 Santa Inés Virgen y Mártir
1998 San Juan Capistrano
1997 Nuestra Señora de Loreto Conchó
(Baja California Sur)
1996 San Francisco de Asís
1995 San Francisco Solano
1994 San Diego de Alcalá
1993 San Antonio de Padua and San Miguel Arcángel
1992 San Luis Rey de Francia
1991 La Purísima Concepción
1990 Santa Bárbara
1989 San Juan Bautista
1988 San Fernando Rey de España
1987 Santa Clara de Asís
1986 San Buenaventura
1985 San José
1984 San Juan Capistrano