California Missions and Presidios Conference

41st Annual California Missions and Presidios Conference
Presented by California Missions Foundation
April 12-13, 2024
“Missions La Purisima and Santa Inés: Evangelization, Social Change and Conflict”


View and Download Flyer

As we celebrate the 40th anniversary of the first CMSA Conference, please join us for a special 2-day mission studies conference at Missions La Purísima and Santa Inés, April 12-13, 2024. The in-person event will include networking, camaraderie, excellent paper presentations, our annual awards banquet and a pair of distinguished keynote addresses. Our exciting spring event will take place in the heart of the famed Santa Ynez Valley wine region, known for history, pinot, chardonnay and syrah.

Friday, April 12, 2024

Mission Santa Inés

  • 9:45 a.m. Docent Registration
  • 10 a.m. Docent Meeting and Luncheon
  • 2 p.m. Afternoon Tour of Mission Santa Inés and Grist Mill
  • 4 p.m. Afternoon Keynote Address in the Mission Church with Fr. Jack Clark Robinson: "500th Anniversary of Franciscans in the Americas"
  • 5 p.m. Registration, Hosted Reception with local Valley wine tasting, Mission olive oil tasting and Networking
  • 6:30 p.m. CMF Annual Membership Meeting
  • 6:45 p.m. Evening Keynote Address in the Mission Church by Dr. John Johnson: “1824 Chumash Uprising: What We Know 200 Years Later”


Saturday, April 13, 2024

Mission La Purísima

  • 8:30 a.m. Registration, Network and Coffee
  • 9 a.m. Paper Presentations in the Chapel (Click here for paper absracts)
  • 12:30 p.m. Lunch
  • 1:30 p.m. Paper Presentations in the Chapel
  • 4:30 p.m. End of day at La Purisima

Mission Santa Inés

  • 5:30 p.m. Reception and Awards Banquet at Mission Santa Inés in the Parish Hall


Sunday, April 14, 2024


  • 11 a.m. Tour of the original site of Mission La Purisima (Optional)

Conference pricing: 

Free   Supporter’s Circle Members and Above
$75    CMF Members
$35    Docents and Site Staff
$15    Students (scholarships available)
$100  Non-Members

$20   Saturday Lunch
$65   Awards Banquet


Hotel options are available throughout Solvang, Buellton and Lompoc. Please contact CMF for more information and/or suggestions.
(805) 963-1633

CMF would like to thank our dedicated Scholarship Committee, Dr. Damian Bacich, Dr. Glenn Farris, Dr. Robert Hoover, Dr. Robert Jackson and Dr. Lee Panich for their work on the Conference.


Annual California Missions Conferences

2023 San Francisco Solano
2022 San Luis Obispo
2021 San Gabriel
2020 Monterey and Carmel
2019 San Diego de Alcalá
2018 Santa Clara
2017 Santa Inés
2016 San Juan Bautista
2015 San Buenaventura
2014 San Antonio de Padua
2013 Santa Bárbara
2012 San Rafael Arcángel
2011 San Miguel Arcángel
2010 San Luis Rey de Francia
2009 San Carlos Borromeo de Carmel
2008 Tucson, Arizona
2007 San Francisco de Asís
2006 San Diego de Alcalá
2005 San Fernando Rey de España
2004 San Luis Obispo de Tolosa
2003 Santa Cruz
2002 La Paz, Baja California Sur
2001 Royal Presidio Chapel, Monterey
2000 San Gabriel Arcángel
1999 Santa Inés Virgen y Mártir
1998 San Juan Capistrano
1997 Nuestra Señora de Loreto Conchó
(Baja California Sur)
1996 San Francisco de Asís
1995 San Francisco Solano
1994 San Diego de Alcalá
1993 San Antonio de Padua and San Miguel Arcángel
1992 San Luis Rey de Francia
1991 La Purísima Concepción
1990 Santa Bárbara
1989 San Juan Bautista
1988 San Fernando Rey de España
1987 Santa Clara de Asís
1986 San Buenaventura
1985 San José
1984 San Juan Capistrano