2020 California Mission and Presidios Conference Recap


Recently, CMF presented the 37th Annual California Missions and Presidios Conference at Carmel and Monterey. CMF would like to thank our hosts for this year's conference, and those individuals that have been very supportive and helpful in the organizing process: Carmel Mission and Father Paul Murphy and Justin Burke, Cathedral of San Carlos Borromeo and Father Jerry Maher, Diocese of Monterey, Cal State University of Monterey Bay, Casa Munras, Carmel Bach Festival, Alan S. Kemp, Wendy Eales, Ruben Mendoza and Jennifer Lucido.

CMF recognized its 2020 Award Recipients on February 15. CMF awards recognize individuals and organizations that have played a significant role in Missions and Presidios related organizations, CMF as a whole, and missions and presidios studies, research and service.

Alan S. Kemp - Norman Neuerburg Award

Mary Susa - Edna Kimbro Award

Mary Wood - CMF Chairman's Award

Joan Steele - CMF Chairman's Award

Carmel Mission Docents - CMF Chairman's Award

Dr. Knox Mellon - Lifetime Achievement Award


Alan S. Kemp


Mary Susa


Carolyn Dimarco accepting on behalf of her late mother, Mary Wood


CMF Board Member Dr. Robert Hoover and Dominic Gregorio
accepting on behalf of Joan Steele


Members of the Carmel Mission Docent Association


Drs. Knox and Carlotta Mellon


Past CMF Award Recipients



Annual California Missions Conferences

2024 La Purísima and Santa Inés
2023 San Francisco Solano
2022 San Luis Obispo
2021 San Gabriel
2020 Monterey and Carmel
2019 San Diego de Alcalá
2018 Santa Clara
2017 Santa Inés
2016 San Juan Bautista
2015 San Buenaventura
2014 San Antonio de Padua
2013 Santa Bárbara
2012 San Rafael Arcángel
2011 San Miguel Arcángel
2010 San Luis Rey de Francia
2009 San Carlos Borromeo de Carmel
2008 Tucson, Arizona
2007 San Francisco de Asís
2006 San Diego de Alcalá
2005 San Fernando Rey de España
2004 San Luis Obispo de Tolosa
2003 Santa Cruz
2002 La Paz, Baja California Sur
2001 Royal Presidio Chapel, Monterey
2000 San Gabriel Arcángel
1999 Santa Inés Virgen y Mártir
1998 San Juan Capistrano
1997 Nuestra Señora de Loreto Conchó
(Baja California Sur)
1996 San Francisco de Asís
1995 San Francisco Solano
1994 San Diego de Alcalá
1993 San Antonio de Padua and San Miguel Arcángel
1992 San Luis Rey de Francia
1991 La Purísima Concepción
1990 Santa Bárbara
1989 San Juan Bautista
1988 San Fernando Rey de España
1987 Santa Clara de Asís
1986 San Buenaventura
1985 San José
1984 San Juan Capistrano