2020 California Missions Conference Speakers



Russell K. Skowronek joined by Richard E. Johnson and Brandi Reidy
Cobre Sagrado - Sacred Copper on the Alta California Frontier




Ruben Mendoza
The Legacy and Master Works of a California Missions Master Craftsmen and Papal Knight



Alan Kemp
Maritime Accounts of Our Lady of Bethlehem


Damian Bacich
Jesuits and Land Struggles at Mission Santa Clara




Jennifer Colby
Guadalupe at the Presidio Chapel: California’s first stone building and oldest non-indigenous sculpture




Victoria Assad
Harvesting the Sea: A Site-Specific Study of Shellfish Exploitation in the Monterey Bay




Jewel Gentry
The Path Forward Through the Narrow Mission Gate: Mission Parishes of the Diocese of Monterey - Preservation, Relations, and Community Experiences


Jennifer Lucido
Drip, Drip, Drought: Climate Patterns at the Presidio & Mission of San Carlos de Monterey, 1770-1790




Skyler Reidy
How should scholars think about accounts of a levitating cross at Monterey?




Elisabeth Rareshide
Remembering the Lone Woman of San Nicolas Island: Addressing Conflicting Narratives in the Museum Exhibit at Mission Santa Barbara


Martha McGettigan
Son of Monterey – General Mariano Guadalupe Vallejo





Paul G. Chace
Jose Ortega’s Gallant Career, the Bold Lead-Scout to Monterey


Alijandra Mogilner
Alta California’s First European Child


David Rickman and Alex La Pierre
Cuera de Gamuza – Leather Armor in Early California

Annual California Missions Conferences

2024 La Purísima and Santa Inés
2023 San Francisco Solano
2022 San Luis Obispo
2021 San Gabriel
2020 Monterey and Carmel
2019 San Diego de Alcalá
2018 Santa Clara
2017 Santa Inés
2016 San Juan Bautista
2015 San Buenaventura
2014 San Antonio de Padua
2013 Santa Bárbara
2012 San Rafael Arcángel
2011 San Miguel Arcángel
2010 San Luis Rey de Francia
2009 San Carlos Borromeo de Carmel
2008 Tucson, Arizona
2007 San Francisco de Asís
2006 San Diego de Alcalá
2005 San Fernando Rey de España
2004 San Luis Obispo de Tolosa
2003 Santa Cruz
2002 La Paz, Baja California Sur
2001 Royal Presidio Chapel, Monterey
2000 San Gabriel Arcángel
1999 Santa Inés Virgen y Mártir
1998 San Juan Capistrano
1997 Nuestra Señora de Loreto Conchó
(Baja California Sur)
1996 San Francisco de Asís
1995 San Francisco Solano
1994 San Diego de Alcalá
1993 San Antonio de Padua and San Miguel Arcángel
1992 San Luis Rey de Francia
1991 La Purísima Concepción
1990 Santa Bárbara
1989 San Juan Bautista
1988 San Fernando Rey de España
1987 Santa Clara de Asís
1986 San Buenaventura
1985 San José
1984 San Juan Capistrano